Adoption Doesn’t Have to Cost an Arm and a Leg

This morning I commented on a post concerning adoption, and I thought what I shared might be useful for those looking to adopt.  Adoption doesn’t have to cost an arm and a leg.  What many private agencies charge is robbery (IMO).

If the unholy cost of adoption is stopping you, check out your local social services agency.  That is where my husband and I finally adopted.  It was way cheaper, and since we got a brother and sister at the same time, one fee for approval took care of both children.

I can only speak for South Carolina, but the fee there was $1000.00 in 2006.  It covered the home study, background check and fire/safety inspection.  It is nothing major. The social worker comes to see the home and the room(s) the child will have.  The fire dept. comes to make sure you have smoke detectors, a fire extinguisher, and that you have drawn an escape plan.

The only additional fees are the ones from the attorney you choose, and the court costs to complete the paperwork.  That was around another $700.00 in our case.  We also had to get physicals, so that would depend on insurance and the doctor’s fee.

Just thought I would share this in case anyone out there in blog land is looking to adopt, but wondering how to come up with the massive amount of money.  You don’t need to go to a private agency that will charge thousands and thousands of dollars to set you up with a birth mother who can possibly want you to cover her medical expenses and who still has the right to change her mind without having to repay you.  The agency will not return any money either.  We started our adoption journey with a private agency, and learned the hard way.  We were chosen by two different birth mothers who both changed their minds at the last minute, and the agency couldn’t have cared less.  Fortunately, we never agreed to pay any medical expenses for these girls.

OK, rant over.  I highly recommend checking out your local social services.  You will likely have to take a child a little bit older as they don’t have many infants (ours were 3 and 4), but, 10 years later we have two beautiful, healthy teenagers.

3 thoughts on “Adoption Doesn’t Have to Cost an Arm and a Leg

  1. Thank you for sharing your thoughts on my blog this morning, the information provided is very helpful as I know a couple trying to adopt and can’t afford it, but I will share this with them and hopefully they can adopt now!

  2. Almost every job I have had there has been assistance for adoptions, except…
    The kids I wanted to adopt were my wife’s from a previous marriage. Bio-dad was nowhere to be found. I was there. I cared and I wanted them to have a dad who was there. I never wanted anyone to take them away from the only dad they had ever known should something happen to my wife. They were young but old enough to know what I was asking and they all said it was what they wanted. That, wasn’t ever covered…
    If I wanted a baby from Russia or China that was covered. Eventually, we saved enough money to pay for it. We even had to pay for a court appointed lawyer for bio-dad, as well as one for the kiddoes. Lawyer for the kids wouldn’t sign off unless bio-dad payed back child support (I?). He was in jail, so I paid it for him so we could get past that. The lawyer for the kids also protested because they were “losing their Hispanic heritage.” Bio-dad barely even spoke Spanish…but we agreed to pay for Spanish lessons and classes; money we could barely spare. We had to submit to a home inspection and individual counseling sessions for the kids…the kids we had been raising for at least five years.
    If we had adopted a stranger it would have been cheaper and easier.
    I complain about the stupidity of what we went through and the cost because it was stupid but…it was more than worth it and would have been at any cost. My kids have kids of their own now and we disagree on what traits were inherited from which grandparent. Every once in a while someone who is not a family member reminds us that there is no biological relationship to my side of the family. The surprise on our faces usually shocks them as do the cold hard stares that follow. No one has made that mistake twice. In one case someone was punched for saying, “but, he’s not even your real dad” and not by me.
    Anyway, sorry for the long ramble and God bless.

  3. Glad you were finally able to work it out : ) I was adopted by the man who married my mother. He is my father, however I don’t know how complicated it was. Blessings to you.

Leave a Reply

