Adult Visions

When I was a child, I imagined all the things I would do when I grew up.  I suppose my vision of my adulthood wasn’t too far off.

I thought I would go to college and have my bestie, Susan, for a roomate.  Nope, went to school, but stayed at home.

I always hoped to get married, but was so scared I would end up single and lonely. The boys I liked just wanted to be friends, but I did get married a whole lot earlier than even I thought I would.

I thought I stay in my hometown.  Nope, did not accomplish that one.

I thought I would be a teacher.  Yep, even though it was a little later than expected.

I thought I would have children,  50/50 on this one.  I expected to have my own, but ended up adopting. I couldn’t love them more if I had birthed them.

I thought I would have children early.  Ten years of tears waiting, but it finally happened when I was 36.

I thought I would drive a Corvette.  LOL, dream on!  A 2000 Honda Accord and a 2005 Town and Country is the reality.

I thought I would go to Hawaii.  Not yet, but I am determined that WILL happen some day.

So, some things may have been later than I thought, but for the most part, I was right.

Leave a Reply

