Conversation With God

Me: Why did you make me like you did? Why was I such a late bloomer? All the boys I liked just wanted to be friends. I never even had a real date until after high school (went to the prom with “just a friend”). No self respecting high school boy was going to ask me out when I looked like I was 12 even though I was 16.

God: I created your inmost being. I knit you together in your mother’s womb. (Psalm 139:13).

Me: Why did you not want me to have children of my own?

God: I think you see the answer to that now. I had 2 precious children who needed you.

Me: Yes, I see that clearly now. What about the the heartbreak of the two adoptions that failed?

God: What about them? I never promised you would not have pain. My ways are not your ways.

Me: But I didn’t feel you near me. I felt like you weren’t there, like you didn’t care.

God: Remember the poem about the footprints? When there was only one set of footprints, it was then that I carried you.
woman+praying+sepia+sky

2 thoughts on “Conversation With God

  1. We had 2 birthmoms change their minds and keep their babies. The last one was the worst because she took her baby back the day we were to pick her up. It was awful.

Leave a Reply

