My Favorite Cousin

During my internet surfing today, I came across a group called “I Lost A Loved One To Suicide”. It got me thinking of my cousin. I wrote this story and thought I would share it here.

I had a favorite cousin named John. My mom and I lived with my grandparents, and he would come over after school. He was 7 years older than me, but he would take time and play with me like a big brother. My mom said sometimes he was the only one who could get me to stop crying.

When he turned 16, his mother (my aunt) went missing. This was 1979, and she has never been seen since.

He stayed with my grandmother for a while until some family friends took him in. He finally located his father who disappeared after his parent’s divorce, and his own dad didn’t want him.

Other things happened that were too much for him, so in January of 2005, he took his own life by hanging himself at the age of 42. I miss him very much. RIP, John.

2013-07-21-21-39-33-557329511

8 thoughts on “My Favorite Cousin

  1. Tears in my eyes Michelle, reading this. Suicidal thoughts are truly the scariest things in the world. For someone who has never had them, count yourself lucky. Sorry to hear of your loss. So sad.

      • I remember you telling me about that. I only had the 1 incident on the bike, and thankfully, I had the vision of my kids to get me to stop. Never again.

Leave a Reply

