Maybe I Shouldn’t Have

My mother said you did love me and wanted to see me, but she wouldn’t let you.  You were young, drank too much, and she was worried about your temper.  I haven’t seen you since I was 2 years old. Do you still think about me?

I met your mother. I gave my address and phone number, but heard nothing since.

I figured it was time to try to connect since my own children may want to find their own birth family one day.  Maybe I shouldn’t have.

father-Daughter-holding-hands

5 thoughts on “Maybe I Shouldn’t Have

  1. A touching story from someone adopted who has since adopted. There’s a special place in Heaven (IMHO) for those that adopt and take up the TRUE role of “Mom’s” and “Dad’s” Kudos to you Michelle!

    • i’ve been thinking about this a lot recently. My children are starting to ask questions that I don’t know the answers to. I feel for them not having answers. I at least still had my mom to explain the situation to me. She even said if I wanted to meet him, she could make it happen. All I know to give my kids is a name and place of brth.

      • The only thing you can tell them is the TRUTH. Plain and simple. They need to know. 🙂 You’ll be fine. They’ll love you for it.

Leave a Reply

